Guide To Mississippi Gun Laws
This guide is the best place to learn more about gun laws, especially the Mississippi gun laws. If you want to conceal carry in Mississippi but are afraid that you might break the law, then you need to keep reading to keep yourself out of legal troubles.
What you should know about Mississippi is that it issues two types of licenses for firearm possession in the state, namely a standard permit and an enhanced permit. Such permits are issued by the Department of Public Safety of the state.
Mississippi is also a constitutional carry state, which means that you can carry a firearm even without a permit.
Does Mississippi Allow Constitutional Carry?
As mentioned earlier, Mississippi is a constitutional carry state which means it allows constitutional carry.
This means that you do not need a license to carry a loaded or unloaded pistol or revolver upon the person in a sheath, belt holster, or shoulder holster or in a purse, handbag, satchel, or other similar bag or briefcase, or fully enclosed case.
If a person is not engaged in criminal activity other than a misdemeanor traffic offense, is not otherwise prohibited from possessing a pistol or revolver under state or federal law, and is not in a prohibited location.
Is Open Carry Permitted in Mississippi?
You are allowed to open carry in the state as long as you are 18 years old and above. You will also not face any state or federal restrictions to carry firearms.
While open carry is permitted in Mississippi, it doesn’t mean everyone is legally allowed to do so. For instance, convicted felons are prohibited from carrying firearms or open carry in Mississippi.
If Mississippi Requires a Permit to Carry a Concealed Firearm, How are Those Permits Issued?
As we’ve mentioned above, Mississippi doesn’t require you to have a permit to carry, but for reciprocity reasons, you are still offered two types of permits by the Department of Public Safety, the Standard Firearms Permit (SFP) and an enhanced version (E-SFP).
Let’s take a deeper look into how these permits are issued by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety.
What is the minimum age in Mississippi to get a concealed carry permit?
Whether it’s for the standard firearms permit applicants or the enhanced one, the applicant must have a minimum age of 21 years old. However, if you are a member of the United States armed forces or a veteran, then the minimum age would be 18 years old.
What other requirements are there to get a concealed carry permit in Mississippi?
Besides the minimum age of 21 and 18 years old, here are some other requirements that you need to meet in order to get a standard or enhanced permit:
- The applicant must be one of the Mississippi residents for more than 12 months.
- The applicant must not be suffering from a physical infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun.
- The applicant shall not have violent misdemeanor convictions in the past 3 years.
- The applicant wants the permit as a legal means to carry a stun gun, concealed pistol, or revolver to defend him or herself.
- The applicant isn’t chronically and habitually alcoholic drinks to the point where his or her normal faculties are impaired.
- The applicant must not have adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony unless three (3) years have passed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been met.
Apart from the requirements that were mentioned, non-residents that have a valid permit from another state, active-duty members of the military stationed in Mississippi, or a retired law enforcement officer becoming a resident in Mississippi can also carry a concealed firearm in Mississippi.
However, if you want to be an enhanced permit holder, it is mandatory to take a firearms training course given by an instructor certified by the Mississippi Department of Public Safety.
What is the process of the concealed carry permit application and renewal?
In order to get a concealed carry permit in Mississippi, you can refer to the following steps:
- Download the application form.
- Fill out all the necessary sections of the application form.
- Once the form is filled out, the application needs to be notarized.
- Prepare two forms of ID, and one of them must be a photo ID, for instance, a driver’s license, state ID card, birth certificate, or social security card. More examples are available on the DPS website.
- The photo attached to the application has to fit in the box provided on page 12 of the form.
- Bring the application to the Department of Public Safety or a Highway Patrol substation.
- You will need to be fingerprinted and after that, it’s just waiting for approval.
- Once your application has been approved, you will receive a notification by mail.
Here’s what you need to know if you want to renew your Mississippi permit:
- The packages for renewing are usually mailed out 90 days prior to the permits expiry date. Be sure to inform the Firearm Permit division if you’ve changed your address.
- If you are late for renewing, a late fee of $15 will be charged and this fee can be paid for up to 6 months past the expiration date.
- Permits expired for over 6 months are automatically marked as permanently expired and you are required to make a new application for a permit.
What is the fee for the permit?
The application fee for an individual or an individual aged 65 years old or older is $112 and if you are renewing the former one, it will cost you $72, while the latter is $52 only.
For security guard permits, it will come with a fee of $132 and the renewing of the permit will be $72. For a disabled veteran and retired law enforcement officer, all fees are waived.
The fees are to be paid in the form of cash, cashiers check, Visa, Mastercard, or debit card. Cashiers checks are to be made payable to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety.
Where Is It Illegal To Open Carry In Mississippi?
According to the Mississippi gun laws, there are some places in the state that don’t allow the possession of firearms and it’s applicable for both standard and enhanced permit holders. Here are the places off-limits for the possession of firearms:
- Schools. You are not allowed to open carry in any elementary or secondary school facility, junior college, community college, college, or university facility.
- Stadiums. The possession of firearms or open carry is not allowed in any professional athletic fields or stadiums in the Mississippi.
- Courthouses. Open carry is not allowed in any courthouse or during a judicial proceeding.
- Prison. Any correctional home, detention facility, prison or jail prohibits the possession of firearms or open carry.
- Polling places. You are not allowed to open carry or possess firearms in a polling place during elections in the state.
- Legislative meeting. You cannot open carry in any political meeting of a government or legislative body.
- Places of worship. Places such as a church, mosque, or synagogue in the state, don’t allow you to open carry, except if you are one of the members of the security team.
- Personal properties and buildings. You are not allowed to open carry in any private property or building with a post stating “carrying of a pistol or revolver is prohibited”.
- Premises that serve alcohol. Open carry in premises primarily devoted to dispensing alcoholic beverages is not allowed.
- Airports. You cannot open carry in the passenger terminal of any airport, except if the firearm is encased for shipment.
- Places prohibited by federal law. You cannot open carry in any Tennessee valley authority property or prohibited places according to federal laws.
Where Is It Legal To Open Carry In Mississippi?
While there are places that don’t allow you to possess firearms or open carry, there are also places in Mississippi that allow it. Here are the places where you can possess firearms and open carry:
- State parks and forests. You are allowed to open carry in Mississippi forests and parks as well as wildlife management areas.
- Personal vehicle. You are allowed to open carry in your car provided that the firearm is in plain view.
- Roadside rest areas. Open carry is allowed along roadsides in the state.
Preemption Laws in Mississippi
Mississippi is a preemption gun law state, meaning that the state statutes will take precedence over those of local areas. Even so, the state permits local municipalities and counties to regulate the shooting of firearms in the following places:
- Parks and general meetings that involve the authorities of counties, municipalities, and every other government body.
- Political rally in the state or during a parade.
- A school, college, or professional athletic event that doesn’t involve the use of firearms.
Any person that violates any of the Mississippi preemption gun laws will face a penalty that involves paying a fine of at least one thousand dollars.
With a clearer understanding of the Mississippi gun laws, you will know better when to bring along your concealed carry and when to leave the concealed carry at home.
Not every Mississippi gun law is useful for you, but if you have a concealed carry, it would be wise to understand the concealed carry laws that are in place.
Are weapons other than handguns allowed in Mississippi?
Yes. Other than a concealed pistol or handgun, any person with a permit for concealed carry in Mississippi is allowed to carry other weapons such as stun guns.
Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in Mississippi?
Yes. However, to possess or purchase a taser or stun gun in Mississippi, you are required to have a concealed carry permit first. Areas that are off-limits to carry a concealed handgun will apply to the carrying of stun guns or tasers as well.
Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in Mississippi?
Yes. There isn’t any state law that prohibits you from purchasing, possessing, or using pepper spray in Mississippi.
Does Mississippi issue concealed carry permits to non-residents?
Yes. Non-residents in Mississippi have access to standard permits too. The same requirements for applying for a standard or enhanced permits also apply to any person that doesn’t stay in Mississippi.
The applicant should also have a valid permit from another state and the person should also possess a valid Mississippi driver’s license or identification card issued by the DPS.
Is open carry permitted while hunting in Mississippi?
Yes. You can open carry with your firearm while you’re hunting in Mississippi and it doesn’t exclude bow hunting. However, to carry concealed while you’re hunting in Mississippi requires you to possess a state permit.
Mississippi also has a hunter harassment law to protect hunting activities and this law includes the following:
- No one should intentionally interfere with or disturb a licensed hunting activity or the legal taking of games in wildlife in Mississippi.
- No one should disturb wildlife animals in a way that affects the behavior of the animals, making it harder for legal hunting activities to take place.
- No one should harass or disturb any person who is legally hunting wildlife in Mississippi.
- No one should trespass on private or state-owned property to hunt without the owner of the property or the authority in charge of permitting such activities.
Do I need to notify law enforcement officers about my possession of firearms in Mississippi?
No. You are not obligated by any law to inform a law enforcement officer you meet that you carry a firearm.
Is there a castle doctrine policy in Mississippi?
Yes. The castle doctrine policy is also known as a duty to stand your ground policy as long as you are located in a place where you have lawful rights to be.
Can I utilize deadly force during self-defense situations in Mississippi?
Yes. If you are not the instigator of an attack or you are not engaging in any form of criminal or illicit behavior, the use of deadly force is allowed for self-defense.
Hello there, it’s Michael here. A gun lover since young, served the country for the last 20 years. I started the blog to share my experience and gun-related knowledge accumulated throughout the years. Hopefully, you will find something useful over here or just have fun! You can learn more about me here.